SRL Publications Projects Courses





May 2006: Mark Miller Ph.D.

12 Sep 2005: Complete overhaul of the SRL site

29 Dec 2004: Complete overhaul of the SRL site

SRL People


Jonathan S. Shapiro

is an assistant professor in the department of Computer Science. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania in 1999. He has worked on compilers, development tools, and operating systems. His current interests lie in melding hardcore systems programming with formal verification techniques.

Randal Burns

is an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science. He earned his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of California Santa Cruz in 2000. His research is focused on building parallel and distributed storage systems. To this end, he studies security, authentication, concurrency control, data placement, replication, and distributed directory and naming services.

Graduate Students

Michael Scott Doerrie

joined us in August 2003. He is currently working on software verification and verification tools for the BitC project. He has also come up with some clever verification techniques for the address translation logic in Coyotos.

Swaroop Sridhar

is currently working on the compiler for the BitC project. He has also worked (with Prashanth Bungale, below) on using machine virtualization techniques fordebugging and security.

Eric Northup

is currently working on the new Coyotos kernel. He also contributed extensively to the EROS Window System.

Completed PhD's

Mark Miller

joined us in January 2004, and finished his Ph.D. dissertation in 2006. His work focuses on secure programming languages, protection, and access control. His dissertation can be found online here. For a sense of what Mark is currently up to, check out the e-lang mailing list, or the E language website.

Former Students

Simon Dawson

(B.S. 2002)

Dylan Adams

(B.S. 2002) Dylan received the 2001 Muss award for excellence in undergraduate research.

Prashanth Bungale

(M.S. 2004) While at SRL, Prashanth worked with Swaroop (above) on using machine virtualization techniques for kernel debugging. He has entered the Ph.D. program at Harvard, where he is working with Dr. Mema Roussopoulos. His new home page is here.

Abhishek Chitlangia (M.S. 2004)
Michael Hilsdale

(B.S. 2002, M.S. 2003)

Krister Johansen

(B.S. 2002)

Dan Kalowsky (M.S. 2004)
Anya Kanevsky

(M.S. 2002)

Tabish Mustufa

(B.S. 2002) Tabish was one of the contributors to the OpenCM project.

Sandeep Ranade

Sandeep worked on Real Time scheduling for EROS.

Chris Riley

(Ph.D. 2004)

Sandeep Sarat

Sandeep collaborated with Anshumal Sinha on the defensible network subsystems work (see: Network Subsystems Reloaded), and is now working with Dr. Andreas Terzis on networking.

Raphael Schweber-Koren

(B.S. 2002)

Mark Seaborn

(M.S. 2004)

Anshumal Sinha

(M.S. 2004) Anshumal's work focused on defense in depth in network subsystems (see: Network Subsystems Reloaded). This work resulted in a joint paper with Sandeep Sarat (above).

Mark Smith

(B.S. 2002) Mark worked on an early physical memory allocator for EROS.